I Wonder?

Print

Border Fence along highway near San DiegoIn his August 12 General Audience address, Pope Francis said, “The pandemic has highlighted how vulnerable and interconnected we all are. If we do not take care of each other, starting with the least—those who are most affected, including creation—we cannot heal the world.” Everything and everyone is connected as God’s creation.

This year’s LCWR assembly focused on the topic of “God’s Infinite Vision: Our Journey to the Borders and Beyond.” The participants explored the impact of COVID-19 and new understandings of racism on the mission and lives of Catholic sisters. When I reflect on this theme, I wonder what it means for Associates, Affiliates, Companions, Co-members of religious congregations … what is God’s Infinite Vision for our way of life? Do we see borders, or do we look beyond to see how connected we are to one another?

In her presidential address, Sr. Jayne Helmlinger, CSJ, stated, “It is essential for us to embrace this movement of transnational, transcharism, and transcultural religious life if we are to flourish in the years ahead.” She continued, “It is a disservice to religious life itself if we focus solely on our home congregations as if we are islands unto ourselves.”

I wonder, are our associate communities “islands unto themselves?” Do we see ourselves in other expressions of charism? Do we extend ourselves beyond our home congregation? Do we see ourselves in the other? Do we recognize a common call to compassionate living as encompassing more than one culture, charism, nation, or religion?

Involvement with organizations like NACAR and regional groups such as BACAR, CARMA, MKS, and OPAL helps to broaden perspectives, to see beyond borders, and to rejoice in the many ways we are more alike than different.

As we begin this 2020 Season of Creation, let us remember that we are all interconnected. The needs of the world are urgent, so let’s open the borders of our hearts and our communities and go forth together for the sake of the whole. As Sr. Jayne noted, “With God, there are no borders in loving one another.” Happy Season of Creation!


“Wholehearted Living and Associate Life”
Wednesday, September 16, 2020

1:00 pm Eastern, Noon Central, 11:00 am Mountain, 10:00 am Pacific

Presented by Carla Rush, Vice President of NACAR board

Registration is CLOSED for this free webinar. We have reached our limit! A video of the webinar will be available on our website soon after September 16.

Please login to comment
  • No comments found
Powered by Komento